The Beauty of Silence

This morning we left our sleepy home in western New York, Boston bound, as the stars were just beginning to tuck themselves back into the dark velvety folds of the waning night sky. It is rare that I am ever up early enough to witness this every-day wonder, and for me this is one of the best parts about road tripping. After a stop at Tim Horton’s for coffee, and a few last minute essentials at Wegmans (aka: our local grocery store, aka: the grocery utopia of the known world) we were off rushing through the lush countryside eastward; our horizon melting from black and navy to pinks and oranges. It wasn’t but thirty minutes before the sun started to crown over the hillside, and the mist, still cradled betwixt yawning valleys, began to rise in nature’s exultation to her creator. In these still, quiet moments of the morning all the world cries out to sing His praises. Holiness.

Enraptured by the beauty of this especially magnificent sunrise I quickly reached for my iPhone and snapped a disappointing picture, I readjusted my angle and prepared to click away again, and then I stopped. “Why,”  I thought suddenly, “can a moment never be just between my Elohim and I? Why is it that I can never just bathe in His beauty? Why does everything have to be documented, or Tweeted, or Facebooked? Why can I never just be still and know – with every fiber of my being – that He is God?” And so I put my camera down and drove ahead in still silence, soaking up glory all the way.

I am all about capturing the special moments of my life on film – or pixel, as it is in our generation – and I have seen some truly spectacular photos of sunrises, sunsets, roaring waves, and majestic mountains crowned with clouds. But the truth is that most of the time, and especially in my case as my camera is certainly not of professional caliber, a picture simply cannot capture the brilliance that being present in the moment instills. Mostly it’s just a distraction from being completely with my Yahweh – mind, heart, and soul. It made me think about how we, as a society, are addicted to overexposing ourselves to the world, in both the good and the bad. For the most part I am a fan of social media, but I cannot help but feel like we’ve gotten to a point where we live from Instagram to Instagram, watching our lives through a camera lens and never just being in the moment. Discretion and propriety are considered old-fashioned and repressive; instead we have adopted a lifestyle of oversharing – sometimes in the worst ways…

Read the rest at Whatever is Lovely!

Leave a Reply

